Critical Monday // The proof of the pudding is in the eating. But what am I eating?

I was happily doing my things while I suddenly felt the urge of complaining and casually it’s Monday and I am on the internet.
The Critical Monday of this week goes out to the tendency of Irish people (maybe expand it to every anglophone) to call everything that has a soft, creamy consistency a pudding.
That thing you eat at Christmas and is made of dried fruit and alcohol is called pudding and it’s nothing close to a mixture of blood, pork, rusk and seasonings that’s called black pudding.
And I also heard creamery fillings such as Chantilly be called puddings. And I just heard someone call a mousse pudding.
Whaaat?
So I opened up my loyal google to try to solve this repetitive mystery but I ended up ever more confused.

Wikipedia, my know-it-all best friend, says that “pudding can be used to describe both sweet and savory dishes. However, unless qualified, the term in everyday usage typically denotes a dessert; in the UK, “pudding” is used as synonym for a dessert course.”
Perfect, so now it is official and not only my impression.
“The word pudding is believed to come from the French boudin, originally from the Latin botellus, meaning “small sausage”, referring to encased meats used in Medieval European puddings.
So it starts with encased meats, not diary creams!”
“Dessert puddings have a similarity both in texture, presentation and cooking process with their savoury namesakes. Set custard dishes, such as bread and butter pudding, are similar to blood sausage,  and Christmas pudding to haggis.
So the misunderstanding lies in the similarities between the cooking process! I have my answer.

Please, Anglophone people, the life of puddings must be already confusing, at least call other desserts and dishes with their own name!  Polenta is not a pudding! It freaks foreigner foodies out!

Leave a Reply

